Why Being A Grown Up Sucks

Being a grown up sucks.It really does,it comes  with so much baggage that can easily plunge you into depression if not handled in the right manner.When I was younger,I would sit with the grown ups and wish I would grow up faster and join their little club,but now that am here,I wanna go back and be a teen!First of all grown ups are very judgy.They are competitive,aggressive and sometimes mean which they call honesty which is just an excuse they use to insult you.Its kinda hard to make friends with grown ups.They have their own little cliques where they hardly let people in,they will be cordial with you but unless you went to college with them,have been in the same Chama for not less than four years,or you grew up in the same hood,they never really let you in.
What sucks the most about being a grown up is how you worry about everything.Lets face it,we all care about what other people think of us.We therefore seek political and social correctness in our conversations.We nod and smile while talking to our bosses who we obviously hate but shed the pretentiousness when we get home and get all cocky.
I hate being a grown up,I hate the responsibilities that have come with joining this messy club.I hate that I cannot just eat my darn cookies without counting the calories.I hate that the number on the scale makes me add one more mile in my morning run.I hate that I cannot just call out they lady from the other cubicle and tell her to get off her high horse and out of the “Saved” group and deal with her crumbling marriage,but I can’t,because that is not grown up behavior.I hate that I know where money comes from,I hate bills.Being a kid is a lot easier,because some one else takes care of that.
Being a grown up has made me realize that not all dreams come true,that true friends are really hard to come by,that life is shorter than YOLO,that everything comes at a price,that love is not a movie,no one has time to run after your ass in the rain holding a boombox over their head chanting your favorite love song,that being number one is sometimes overrated,and that nothing lasts forever.
I miss my naivety and my innocence.I miss how much time I had for everything,now,even the smallest chores have to be squeezed in somewhere.I wish I could go back and apologize to my naps for being a jerk to them in nursery school!I would give anything to have one everyday!
I know I speak for a lot of people when I say that being a grown up is the most overrated expectation kids have.
What sucks the most for you?

4 thoughts on “Why Being A Grown Up Sucks

Leave a Reply

