(Fiction)

(Intro.)

The cold is biting,the ambulances’  siren is wailing,the t.v at the reception is blaring,news.The Script is playing on Myspace,if you ever come back.Am all alone in the tiny room called office,the naked bulb is glaring at me,am burning the midnight oil while at it earning my buck.Its then that i decide to write this post.I had an idea about it while in the jav,i was getting some serious elbowing by some  guy who decided he wanted to read the morning paper and i be his table,am seated between him and the driver who has decided to the gear thingy wont work unless it grinds on me*get your mind out of the gutter honey*.Anyway,guys,everyone who has read my previous posts,i really appreciate.Am working on moving from fiction to something else,but i think fiction is giving me confidence.Every single word i write here is undeniably from an amateurs mind,but .we all come from somewhere,so baby steps.I hope you enjoy,thank you 🙂

   BULLET PROOF

The pounding rain on the iron sheets is my lullaby.It has been raining for the past two hours,I am hurdled on the sofa with a blanket covering my legs,a cup of the now cold coffee is on the table.A cancer stick is dangling from my mouth,the ash tray is full.The lights are out,but the TV is on,its mute.I have been waiting for my wife since 9.00pm.Shes working she says,but i know better;shes working the meat hanging between the legs  on the son of a bitch called Kamau,that slut.

Things have not always been like this between us.Hell i do not even know how they got  like this.We have been married for 5  years,with  ups and downs as usual.She forgave my indiscretions,or i thought she did and agreed to try and make us work.My indiscretions mind you,are getting myself fired.She lied.I lost my job a year ago,she was a house wife by then,everything seemed to go south that time.It was a dark time of our lives.She had another miscarriage we were facing eviction,were had used our savings,trying to get our way out of debt.My ulcers had me hospitalized. We were almost giving up,she had given her resume to some of her friends,and at the nick of time,a former classmate offered her a job as an executive assistant.

Just like that,she assumed the role of the breadwinner,and i became her bitch.Things seemed to work for a time. Of course  her salary could not match my previous one so we had to  re adjust our lifestyle, still we were happy.She would leave early and come back in the evening to a clean house,clean clothes and  a waiting husband.We would cuddle on the soaf as she re counted her day,and i would listen intently,offering her advice having worked for years.I was still looking for a job,i had started drawing again i had stopped after campus since i got busy.She was a sweetheart,never put me down or disrespected me in anyway,but only for a time.Things began to change.

The meetings became suddenly many,traveling,office retreats,team building events.Having worked before,i took her word,she would never lie to me.My gut called me stupid,but i ignored it.

Six inches heels,lipstick,new haircut,shorter and tighter skits,make up and obsessing with her figure were what had me rattled,Sally was always a country girl,she didn’t care about make ups and stuff,she liked to be natural,part of the reason i was drawn to her.When i raised my concerns,for the first time we had a bad fighting,she called me jealous lazy,and many other things that hurt my ego and gave serious blows to my man hood.Her defensiveness had me raise my bullshit detector to a whole new level.

That was the beginning of many a fights,she started looking at me in disgust.She hated my touch,she could not stand me.We stopped talking,only talking when it got necessary,we stopped having meals together.The couch became my bedroom.She started cutting my allowance she started buying fewer things,the bathroom soap,sugar,calling them luxuries.I waited patiently for her to snap out of whatever trance she was in.I was wrong.

When she wouldn’t change,and her attitude seemed to get worse,i started following he.Being the country girl she is,her lack of  discretion sold her out instantly.I know everything,I have seen her do things to Kamau,things that i have never seen in my life,i have pictures of her in positions i never thought her body was capable of.I got past my jealous i got past my rage,i accepted that things have gone  south.I cannot see my self forgiving her,she has gone broken the vow she made to me  before God and man.She has burnt all the bridges that could have  ever brought us together.Am i unhappy?i really don’t know,my heart is an ice box,i only know one thing;the events that are going to follow will change both of our lives forever.

I know its wrong what i am about to do,hell its cruel and dangerous but it must be done.I cannot live like this,I am a man.A man acts.He defends his ego.He gives onlookers something to talk about,because he is a man.

The key turning in the lock breaks my trail of thoughts.The light flickers on as she hangs her rain coat and umbrella.

Its 1.00 pm.Time to act!

8 thoughts on “(Fiction)

  1. Whaaat! This sure is something. The way you narrate the masculine role; very realistic. Had me confused for a while coz I thought you were narrating the female role in first person! The suspense is pretty captivating. You should seriously consider doing more stories like this

Leave a Reply

